skyliner Austria provides a 22 diameter event cover for the Mariazeller Bürgeralpe

The pilgrimage site of Mariazell in Upper Styria has long been a familiar name to winter sports enthusiasts and pilgrims alike. But hikers, bikers, climbers and day trippers also visit the small municipality of Mariazell with its widely known basilica and the nearby Bürgeralpe viewing plateau at an altitude of almost 1,300 metres all year round.

From June to September 2020, a skyliner with a total membrane area of 22 metres provided sufficient space for visitors to the restaurant on the popular Mariazeller Bürgeralpe to rest and linger - as well as welcome protection against the high levels of sunshine and the sometimes capricious mountain weather. At the same time, the elegant event cover enabled continuous outdoor catering operations while complying with all applicable corona protection regulations.

The installation of the skyliner sl22 was particularly challenging not only because of the changing weather conditions with sometimes high wind speeds, but also because of the special, inaccessible location on the plateau: all the material had to be unloaded by the skyliner Austria team in advance at the foot of the viewing platform and shuttled to the installation site.

skyliner ÖSTERREICH INSTALLIERT sl22 FÜR DIE MARIAZELLER BÜRGERALPE
AUF 1.300 METERN HÖHE

Der Wallfahrtsort Mariazell in der Obersteiermark ist Wintersportlern wie Pilgern schon lange ein Begriff. Doch auch Wanderer, Biker, Kletterer und Tagesausflügler besuchen das ganze Jahr über die kleine Gemeinde Mariazell mit der weithin bekannten Basilika und das nahegelegene Aussichtsplateau Bürgeralpe in fast 1.300 Metern Höhe.

Ein skyliner mit insgesamt 22 Metern Membranfläche bot vom Juni bis September 2020 ausreichenden Platz zum Rasten und Verweilen für die Besucher des Restaurants auf dem beliebten Aussichtsberg „Mariazeller Bürgeralpe“ (buergeralpe.at) – sowie willkommenen Schutz gegen die hohe Sonneneinstrahlung und das manchmal launische Bergwetter. Gleichzeitig ermöglichte die elegante Eventüberdachung einen fortlaufenden Outdoor-Gastronomiebetrieb bei Einhaltung aller geltenden Coronaschutzbestimmungen.

Für besondere Herausforderungen bei der Installation des skyliner sl22 sorgten nicht nur die wechselnden Wetterbedingungen mit teilweise hohen Windgeschwindigkeiten, sondern auch die spezielle, unzugängliche Lage auf dem Plateau: Das gesamte Material musste vom Team skyliner Österreich vorab am Fuß der Aussichtswarte entladen und bis zum Aufstellungsort ge-shuttled werden.